Connections

Never would I have thought that there was anything to connect Orson Scott Card (one of the finest science fiction writers EVER) to Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (arguably one of the best mystery writers EVER).

After seeing the thoroughly delightful Sherlock on PBS, I decided to reread the Sherlock Holmes series. The first show, titled “A Study in Pink” was loosely (very, very loosely) based on Doyle’s first, “A Study in Scarlet.”

So I downloaded it to my iTouch eReader (free, from manybooks.net) and dug in. It’s just the sort of book to read in bed which is when I most like to use the Touch for reading.

Soon we run across the first mention of the “Baker Street Irregulars” headed by none other than Wiggins. I came to a full stop. Wiggins is the last name of the main character in the multi-award winning book Ender’s Game by none other than Orson Scott Card.

I thought that was a way cool coincidence or perhaps a nod to another master of a genre. I kept on reading.

Low and behold: about 1/3 of Study in Scarlet is a story within a story of the early history of Mormons in Utah. And the essential plot points revolve around this history. I was astonished! Doyle knew the history of the Mormons back in the 1880’s! Who would have guessed!

The picture painted of the Mormons was more negative than positive, but based on some recent readings of my own, it was not too far from accurate.

And Orson Scott Card is a Mormon. His choice to name his main character could not possibly have been a coincidence. He must have meant it to be that choice, representing … what? I have no idea. Perhaps I’ll send him an email and ask.

 

About lisabai

Cook, Knitter, Reader; Alpha Cat
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

